Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Prism Comics Seeking Submissions for 2010 Queer Press Grant!

In case any of you reading this are aspiring comic creators.... see here.  From the article:

Prism Comics is accepting submissions for the 2010 Queer Press Grant, with a deadline of September 15, 2010. The annual grant was established by Prism Comics to assist in the publication and promotion of LGBT comics.

Prism will be offering portfolio review at the upcoming San Diego Comic-Con International for those interested in applying to the grant. Howard Cruse (Stuck Rubber Baby), Eric Shanower (Age of Bronze), Paige Braddock (Jane’s World), Bob Schreck (IDW), and Brian Andersen (So Super Duper) are among the reviewers scheduled to evaluate and to dispense advice this year at the Prism Booth. (#2049, 2146, & 2148). Check the Prism website or stop by the Prism booth for the latest schedule.
“The Queer Press Grant is the only American grant besides the Xeric Award dedicated to independent comic books,” says Justin Hall, Prism Comics Talent Relations Chair. “Since 2005 it has provided a significant annual sum of money, which varies according to Prism’s fund raising but generally comes in at around $2,000, to an LGBT cartoonist who is self-publishing a comic book with queer characters and/or themes.”
Entries are judged first and foremost by artistic merit, followed by concerns such as financial need, proposal presentation, and contribution to the LGBT community. They are reviewed by the Prism Comics Board and past recipients of the grant, with the larger advisory board brought in when a tiebreaker is needed.
For a full breakdown of the Grant’s guidelines, as well as for the application itself, please go to Questions about the grant can be directed to Justin Hall at

The Grant is entirely funded by donors, both comics professionals and fans who want to see more LGBT comics creators get published in a market in which it is still difficult for queer stories to be heard. If you would like to support the cause of queer, independent cartooning and donate to the Grant, please go to our: Facebook Cause page.

The previous Queer Press Grant recipients are:

  • Eric Orner (2009: Storybox)

  • Ed Luce (2009: Wuvable Oaf)

  • Pam Harrison (2008: House of the Muses)

  • Justin Hall (2007: Glamazonia)

  • Tommy Roddy (2007: Pride High)

  • Megan Gedris (2006: YU+ME)

  • Steve MacIsaac (2005: Shiftlifter)

  • No comments: